互联网协会简介

互联网协会 (ISOC) 是一家国际性非盈利组织。其宗旨是“促进互联网的开放性开发、发展和使用,为全世界所有人谋福造利”。为实现这一目标,ISOC 专注于互联网标准制定、教育计划以及技术良策的编制。

教育计划

ISOC 制定了各种计划,用以促进互联网的运营和使用。当前计划专注于互联性和标准制定、行业自律、互联网法律辩护、电子商务、防止过度监管、安全性和儿童健康上网。

ISOC 的主要专注领域之一就是给各式各样的人培训如何使用互联网。ISOC 的教育计划在发展中国家/地区包括 K-12 学生、教师和工程师。与 ISOC 类似,Public Interest Registry 也致力于改善全球各地的互联网访问。我们为若干个 ISOC 计划提供基金,这些计划旨在拓宽技能,帮助培养专业人员,使其共事可以扩张互联网的能力。

与 PIR 的关系

ISOC 于 2002 年创立了一家 501(c)(3) 非盈利组织 Public Interest Registry,用于管理、增强和扩张 .ORG 域名。在解决隐私和安全问题并改善全球各地互联网访问的事业上,Public Interest Registry 与ISOC 目标一致,为其提供相当大的财政和宣传支持。

有关 ISOC 以及如何成为会员的详细信息,请访问 www.isoc.org

About the Internet Society

The Internet Society (ISOC) is an international nonprofit organisation. Its mission is to “promote the open development, evolution and use of for the benefit of all people throughout the world.” To accomplish this, ISOC focuses on Internet standards development, educational initiatives, and technically sound policy formation.

Educational Programs

ISOC is involved in a variety of initiatives that influence the operation and use of the Internet. Current programs focus on interconnectivity and standards development, industry self- governance, legal defense of the Internet, e-commerce, protection against excessive regulation, security, and child safety online.

One of ISOC’s primary areas of focus is training a wide variety of people on how to use the Internet. ISOC’s education programs reach everyone from K-12 students, to teachers, and to engineers in developing countries. Like ISOC, Public Interest Registry is committed to improving Internet access around the world. We provide funding for several ISOC programs that broaden technical skills and that help develop professionals who can work together to expand the Internet’s capacity.

Relationship with Public Interest Registry

In 2002, ISOC created Public Interest Registry, a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit corporation to manage, enhance and expand the .org domain. Sharing common goals, Public Interest Registry provides considerable financial and advocacy support to ISOC in its efforts to address privacy and security issues and improve internet access around the world.

For more information about ISOC and how to become a member, visit www.isoc.org.