It hasn’t been since the release of the .ORG domain in 1985 that nonprofits, charities, and NGOs worldwide have had the opportunity to register a new domain so relevant to the nonprofit sector. Odds are that your first choice of the new .NGO domain is still available, but not for long. The new domain — which can only be registered and used by NGOs, charities, and nonprofits — is going fast! That said, the 101 NGOs listed below are a small sampling of the early adopters. Please note:

  • Italics = The NGO has registered the domain, but it is not in use yet.
  • “↪” = The NGO has registered the domain and it is forwarding to a .ORG website.
  • Bold = The NGO has the registered the domain and it is currently in use for web and email communications.
  • To find out if your first choice of the new .NGO domain is still available, please conduct a search at a participating registrar.

1. Accion International • accion.ngo
2. African Wildlife Foundation  awf.ngo
3. AIDA  aida.ngo
4. Amnesty International  amnesty.ngo
5. Asia Foundation  asiafoundation.ngo ↪ asiafoundation.org
6. Audubon Society • audubon.ngo ↪ audubon.org
7. Benefacts • benefacts.ngo
8. Best Friends Animal Society • bestfriends.ngo ↪ bestfriends.org
9. BRAC • brac.ngo
10. Catholic Relief Services • crs.ngo ↪ crs.org
11. CARE International • care.ngo
12. CLASP • clasp.ngo
13. Compassion International • compassion.ngo ↪ compassion.com
14. Conservation International • conservation.ngo
15. Cordaid • cordaid.ngo ↪ cordaid.org
16. Danish Refugee Council • drc.ngo
17. Dian Fossey Gorilla Fund • gorillafund.ngo ↪ gorillafund.org
18. Direct Relief • directrelief.ngo ↪ directrelief.org
19. Doctors of the World • doctorsoftheworld.ngo
20. Earthjustice • earthjustice.ngo ↪ earthjustice.org
21. ECPAT (End Child Prostitution and Trafficking) • ecpat.ngo
22. Educate Girls • educategirls.ngo
23. Engineers Without Borders • ewb.ngo
24. Fairtrade International • fairtrade.ngo ↪ fairtrade.net
25. Feeding America • feedingamerica.ngo ↪ feedingamerica.org
26. Feed the Children • feedthechildren.ngo
27. FINCA International • finca.ngo ↪ finca.org
28. Fistula Foundaton • fistulafoundation.ngo
29. Freedom House • freedomhouse.ngo
30. Gates Foundation • gatesfoundation.ngo
31. GlobalGiving • globalgiving.ngo ↪ globalgiving.org
32. Grameen Foundation • grameenfoundation.ngo
33. Grassroots Global • grassrootsglobal.ngo ↪ grassrootsglobal.org
34. Grassroots Pakistan • grassrootspakistan.ngo
35. Green America • greenamerica.ngo
36. Greenpeace International • greenpeace.ngo
37. Habitat for Humanity • habitat.ngo
38. Handicap International • handicap-international.ngo ↪ handicap-international.org
39. Heifer International • heifer.ngo
40. Humane Society • humanesociety.ngo ↪ humanesociety.org
41. International Corporate Accountability Roundtable • icar.ngo
42. International Fund for Animal Welfare • ifaw.ngo ↪ ifaw.org
43. International Justice Mission • ijm.ngo
44. Islamic Relief Worldwide • islamic-relief.ngo
45. Jane Goodall Institute • janegoodall.ngo
46. Just One Africa • justoneafrica.ngo
47. Kijani • kijani.ngo
48. Kokoda Track Foundation • ktf.ngo
49. Kopernik • kopernik.ngo
50. Interaction • interaction.ngo
51. International Food Policy Research Institute • ifpri.ngo ↪ ifpri.org
52. International Network of Street Papers • insp.ngo
53. International Red Cross • icrc.ngo
54. International Union for Conservation of Nature • iucn.ngo
55. Mason: A Jewish Response to Hunger • mazon.ngo ↪ mazon.org
56. Mission Australia • missionaustralia.ngo
57. Mvula Trust • mvulatrust.ngo
58. National Geographic • natgeo.ngo ↪ nationalgeographic.com
59. Nature Conservancy • nature.ngo ↪ nature.org
60. New Vision Africa • nva.ngo
61. Operation Blessing International • operationblessing.ngo
62. Opportunity International • opportunity.ngo
63. Partners in Health • pih.ngo ↪ pih.org
64. Pathfinder International • pathfinder.ngo ↪ pathfinder.org
65. PETA • peta.ngo ↪ peta.org
66. Pew Charitiable Trusts • pewtrusts.ngo
67. Planet Aid • planetaid.ngo ↪ planetaid.org
68. Plan International • plan-international.ngo
69. Population Council • popcouncil.ngo
70. Project 1948 Foundation • project1948.ngo
71. Project Aware • projectaware.ngo
72. Project Hope • projecthope.ngo
73. Rainforest Rescue • rainforestrescue.ngo
74. Rainforest Trust • rainforesttrust.ngo ↪ rainforesttrust.org
75. Rotary International • rotary.ngo ↪ rotary.org
76. Salvation Army • salvationarmy.ngo
77. Save Darfur Coalition • savedarfur.ngo
78. Save the Children • savethechildren.ngo ↪ savethechildren.org
79. Sea Shepherd Conservation Society • seashepherd.ngo
80. SEE International • see.ngo
81. Seva Foundarion • seva.ngo
82. Sierra Club • sierraclub.ngo ↪ sierraclub.org
83. Solidarités International • solidaritesngo
84. Snow Leopard Trust • snowleopard.ngo
85. SONNE International • sonne.ngo
86. SOS Children’s Villages • soschildrensvillages.ngo ↪soschildrensvillages.org.uk
87. Synergos • synergos.ngo ↪ synergos.org
88. TechSoup • techsoup.ngo
89. UNICEF • unicef.ngo
90. UNAIDS • unaids.ngo
91. UNESCO • unesco.ngo
92. United Way • unitedway.ngo
93. U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants • refugees.ngo
94. WaterAid • wateraid.ngo
95. War Child • warchild.ngo
96. Water for All • water4all.ngo
97. Wilderness Society • wilderness.ngo ↪ wilderness.org
98. Women for Women International • womenforwomen.ngo ↪womenforwomen.org
99. World Ape Fund • worldapefund.ngo
100. World Vision International • wvi.ngo
101. YMCA • ymca.ngo

See Also: 101 .NGO Domains That Are Still Available But Shouldn’t Be

IMPORTANT: Once your organization has registered your new .NGO domain, you must then go through a brief validation process at OnGood.ngo to verify your organization’s legal status and once verified, you can then begin to use your new .NGO domain. It’s also important to note that the new .NGO domain is sold as a bundle, thus when you buy a .NGO domain the equivalent .ONG domain (“ONG” is “non-governmental organization” in Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, and Romanian) is given free of charge. Finally, if you do not plan to immediately put into use your new .NGO and .ONG domains but want to begin increasing the SEO value of your new domains, you can easily set up URL forwarding to your current .ORG through a registrar, such as savethechildren.ngosavethechildren.org.


Categories: NGO, Nonprofit, OnGood .